



March 2016

From the CIB Management

Elections CIB 2016-2019

President, Officers and other Board Members

Introduction

The CIB Board can have maximal 25 Members. Including the President, IPP (Immediate Past President) and other Officers.

According to the CIB Constitution maximal two members of the Board can be from the same country.

The (at present) eight CIB Regional Directors have a standing invitation to attend Board meetings as Guest, also if they are not Member of the Board.

Non-Board Members can be appointed by the new Board as Members of a Board Committee (PC: Programme Committee, AC: Administrative Committee, MCC: Marketing and Communications Committee, SCC: Student Chapters Committee). In that case they will have a standing invitation to attend Board Meetings as Guest.

All CIB Members have been invited to submit nominations for candidates for election into the 2016-2019 CIB Board.

Based on all nominations received the current CIB Board, as requested by the CIB Constitution, proposes the hereafter following candidates for election by the CIB Membership at the General Assembly meeting on May 30, 2016 in Tampere, Finland.

Additional Nominations can officially be submitted (to the CIB Secretariat) by Members until two months prior to the General Assembly.

Nominations received and proposal by the outgoing Board

Nominations have been received for the following persons, who the current Board proposes to be elected into the respective Officers positions:

1. Helena Soimakallio

Finnish Association of Civil Engineers RIL, Helsinki, Finland Full member President



2. Prof Keith Hampson, Sustainable Built Environment National Research Centre (SBEnrc), Curtin University, Perth, Australia Full member Vice President

3. Chelydra Percy

Building Research Association of New Zealand, Judgeford, Porirua City, New Zealand

Full member Vice President

4. Peter Paul van 't Veen Program Director Buildings & Infrastructures, TNO Delft, The Netherlands

Full member **Treasurer**

5. Prof Dr Chrisna de Plessis

Head of the Department of Architecture, University of Pretoria, Pretoria, South-Africa

Associate member Chair PC

6. Shyam Sunder

NIST - National Institute of Standards & Technology - Building & Fire Research Laboratory, Gaithersburg, USA Full member Immediate Past

President



Nominations have been received for the following persons, who the current Board proposes to be elected Board Member and if elected, recommends to the new Board to be appointed as chairs for Board Committees and Guests at the meetings of the new Officers' Committee.

7. Prof Dr Albert Chan

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China Associate member Chair SCC

8. Eva Sikander,

Sustainable Built Environment, SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden, Borås, Sweden Associate member Chair MCC







Nominations have been received for the following persons, who the current Board proposes to be elected Board Member.

George Klepfisch Belgian Building Research Institute, Brussels, Belgium Full member	
Prof Alex Abiko Escola Politécnica, University of São Paulo, São Paulo, Brasil Associate member	
Richard Tremblay National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa, Canada Full member	
Prof Qiang Xu Shanghai Research Institute of Building Sciences, Shanghai, China Full member	
Dr Thorkild AerØ Danish Building Research Institute, Aalborg University, Copenhagen, Denmark Full member	
Prof Kalle Kähkönen Tampere University of Technology, Tampere, Finland Associate member	
Thomas Morszeck Fraunhofer-Informationszentrum Raum und Bau IRB, Stuttgart, Germany Associate member	
Péter Tóth ÉMI Nonprofit LLC for Quality Control and Innovation in Building Budapest, Hungary Full member	
Dr Mohammad Shekarchizadeh Construction Materials Institute (CMI),School of Civil Engineering, University of Tehran, Tehran, Iran Full member	
Antonio Occhiuzzi Istituto per le tecnologie della costruzione, Milan, Italy Full member	
Dr Isao Nishiyama Building Research Institute, National Research and Development Agency Ibaraki-ken, Japan Full member	

Dr Seung-Eon Lee Building and Urban Research Institute, Korea Institute of Civil Engineering and Building Technology, Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea Full member	(60)
Prof Les Ruddock Construction and Property Economics, School of the Built Environment University of Salford, Salford, UK Associate member	
Prof Michail Kagioglou School of Art, Design and Architecture University of Huddersfield Queensgate, Huddersfield, UK Associate member	
Prof Dr Brian Kleiner Myers-Lawson School of Construction Virginia Tech Blacksburg, USA Associate member	

Remaining 2 BO seats

The current CIB Board has asked the CIB Officers to pursue nominations from the following two countries:

- India
- Indonesia

If nominations from these countries are submitted in time and in accordance with the CIB Constitution, the current Board will in principle support those. Assuming that no nominations are submitted from these countries the current Board advises the CIB Membership to accept two vacancies in the new Board and to allow the new Board to search for appropriate candidates after the General Assembly meeting.

Information per candidate

In a separate document more detailed information is given on each candidate, for which a nomination has been received. CIB Members can ask the CIB General Secretariat to provide a copy of this document.

Additional Info

If you need any additional information on the Procedure of Nomination to the CIB Board, you can contact:

Wim Bakens, CIB Secretary General

Tel: +31 10 4110240

Email: wim.bakens@cibworld.nl